Joint Commissions

The Joint Committee between Egypt and Syria

Historical Background

The Egyptian-Syrian High Joint Commission, established in 1990 plays an important part in enhancing cooperation between both countries.  The Commission is headed by the Prime Ministers of both countries and is held annually in Cairo and Damascus alternately.  During the Commission meetings, a number of important agreements were signed, including the following: 
Agreement to establish a High Joint Commission, signed in 1990.
Economic and Technical Cooperation Agreement, signed in 1990.
Setoff Agreement, signed in 1990.
Avoiding Double Taxation Agreement, signed in 1991.
Investments Promotion and Protection Agreement, signed in 1997.
MOU between the Ministries of Petroleum in the field of shipping and exporting natural gas, signed in 2000.
Scientific and Technological Cooperation Agreement, signed in 2003.
MOU on medical and health cooperation, signed in 2003.
MOU on joint cooperation in the field of energy, signed in 2006.

Sessions Held

The First Session of the Egyptian-Syrian High Joint Commission was held in Damascus in 1990.  To date (13) sessions were held, the latest of which convened in Cairo in 2006.


Important Recommendations /Agreements Signed at the Last Session:

The Thirteenth Session of the Egyptian-Syrian High Joint Commission was held on 13-14 December 2006 in Cairo. Both sides agreed to seek appropriate mechanisms for enhancing cooperation in the various fields of economy, trade, investment, science, health and culture…etc. to realize common interests for both countries.  During the Session, 23 documents were signed, including MOU’s, protocols and executive programs, the most important of which are the following:

  1. MOU on cooperation between the Syrian Ministry of Economy and Trade and the Egyptian Ministry of Foreign Trade.
  2. Protocol of cooperation between the General Authority for Investment and Free Zones in Egypt and the General Organization for Syrian Free Zones.
  3. MOU in the field of veterinary services between both governments.
  4. Technical cooperation, exchanging experience and training between both countries in the field of mineral wealth.